Uttarakhand State Map

Uttarakhand is popularly called as the land of gods as it has the mighty Himalayas in it and attracts a lot of travelers from across the world. This paradise on Earth is rich in abundance of fresh air, milky white snow, beautiful mountains, scenic beauty, and quaint little villages and hospitable people. This is the perfect spot for nature lovers and adventure sport lovers who love water rafting, skiing, paragliding, jeep safari in the wild, angling, boating and trekking. The famous tourist attraction places such as the Mussorie and Nainital, Almira, Ranikhet, Pithoragarh, Pauri, and Munyasari are loaded with natural beauty and scenic locations.

The Uttarakhand Maps shows that this state is located in the northern parts of the country and it forms a part of the Himalayas. It shares a border with Tibet, Himachal Pradesh, and Uttar Pradesh. Cities in Uttarakhand are unique in every way and have a well-planned rail route, roadway, airway and waterways to make it accessible to international and national travelers. The interesting feature about Uttarakhand is that its name is derived from Sanskrit meaning the northern part of a country. It was traditionally used to describe the north stretch of Himalayas.

History of Uttarakhand would tell one that there are archeological proofs to support the statements that human life existed in this region during the prehistoric times. Also, Buddhism was followed in the earlier period of Asoka rule. Facts about Uttarakhand states that Dehradun, the capital of this state is the largest city in the whole region and is also a railhead. Also, the population is high in this state that makes it the 19th most populated state in India. The rivers Ganga and Yamuna make the soil extremely fertile and helps in the growth of various crops cultivated here. The UNESCO heritage site present here called the Valley of Flowers is a popular location as it houses some the best varieties of exotic flowering and non-flowering plants.

The tourists who visit the site every year help generate fair share of revenue. The districts in Uttarakhand are 13 in number and the entire state is divided into two major sub divisions such as the Garhwal and Kumaon. This makes the people of the region to be called as either Garhwali or Kumaoni to identify their origin. Each of the districts is under the governance of District Commissioner who has a team of sub divisional magistrates and panchayats to work effectively.

Uttarakhand Map

Facts About Uttarakhand
Area 53,566 km2
Capital Dehradun
Languages Garhwali, Kumaoni, Hindi, Urdu, Sanskrit
Literacy 79.63%
Population 10,116,752
Largest City Dehradun

List of all Districts in Uttarakhand

Code District Headquarters Population (2001) Area (km2)
AL Almora Almora    
BA Bageshwar Bageshwar 249,453 2,310
CL Chamoli Gopeshwar 369,198 7,692
CP Champawat Champawat 224,461 1,781
DD Dehradun Dehradun 1,279,083 3,088
HA Haridwar Haridwar 1,444,213 2,360
NA Nainital Nainital 762,912 3,853
PG Pauri Garhwal Pauri 696,851 5,438
PI Pithoragarh Pithoragarh 462,149 7,110
RP Rudraprayag Rudraprayag 227,461 1,896
TG Tehri Garhwal New Tehri 604,608 4,085
US Udham Singh Nagar Rudrapur 1,234,548 2,912
UT Uttarkashi Uttarkashi 294,179 7,951