Universities in Delhi

In Delhi, there are 5 central universities, 7 state universities, and 13 deemed universities. Delhi also has an international university established by the eight-member nations of the South Asian Association for Regional Co-operation (SAARC).


University Location Type Established Specialization
All India Institute of Medical Sciences New Delhi Autonomous 1956 Medicine
Ambedkar University Delhi New Delhi State 2007 Social sciences, humanities
Delhi Pharmaceutical Science and Research University New Delhi State 1964 Pharmaceutical science
Delhi Technological University Delhi State 1941 Technology
Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University Delhi State 1998 General
Indian Agricultural Research Institute New Delhi Deemed 1902  Agriculture
Indian Institute of Foreign Trade New Delhi Deemed 1963  Foreign trade
Indian Institute of Mass Communication Delhi Autonomous 1965 Mass Communication
Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi New Delhi Autonomous 1961 Engineering, Humanities and Management
Indian Law Institute New Delhi Deemed 1956  Legal
Indian Statistical Institute New Delhi Deemed 1974 Mathematics, quantitative economics and statistics
Indira Gandhi Delhi Technical University for Women New Delhi State 1998  Women’s only, technology
Indira Gandhi National Open University New Delhi Central 1985 Distance education
Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology New Delhi State 2008 Information technology
Institute of Liver and Biliary Sciences New Delhi Deemed 2009 Hepatology
Jamia Hamdard New Delhi Deemed 1906  General
Jamia Millia Islamia New Delhi Central 1920  General
Jawaharlal Nehru University New Delhi Central 1969 General
National Institute of Fashion Technology New Delhi Deemed 1986 Fashion technology
National Institute of Technology, Delhi New Delhi Autonomous 2010 Engineering, Humanities and Management
National Law University, Delhi New Delhi State 2008 Legal
National Museum Institute of the History of Art, Conservation and Museology New Delhi Deemed 1983  Arts
National School of Drama New Delhi Unclear 1959 Drama
National University of Educational Planning and Administration New Delhi Deemed 1962  Education administration
Netaji Subhash University of Technology New Delhi State 1983  Technology
Rashtriya Sanskrit Sansthan New Delhi Deemed 1970  Sanskrit
School of Planning and Architecture New Delhi Deemed 1959  Architecture
Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri Rashtriya Sanskrit Vidyapeetha New Delhi Deemed 1962  Sanskrit
South Asian University New Delhi Central 2010 General
TERI University New Delhi Deemed 1998  Applied sciences
University of Delhi New Delhi Central 1922 General



list of colleges under Guru Gobind Singh Indraprastha University

  • Ambedkar Institute of Technology
  • Govind Ballabh Pant Engineering College
  • Maharaja Agrasen Institute of Technology, Rohini
  • National Power Training Institute
  • New Delhi Institute of Management
  • Trinity Institute of Professional Studies
  • UEI Global
  • University School of Biotechnology
  • University School of Chemical Technology
  • University School of Information Technology
  • University School of Management Studies
  • Vardhman Mahavir Medical College

List of colleges under Delhi University

  • Acharya Narendra Dev College
  • AJK, Mass Communication Research Centre, Jamia Millia Islamia, New Delhi
  • Amity Law School
  • Apeejay Institute of Design
  • Bhaskraycharya College of Applied Sciences
  • Bhim Rao Ambedkar College
  • Ch. Brahm Prakash Government Engineering College
  • College of Vocational Studies
  • Delhi Music Academy
  • Delhi School of Music
  • Gargi College
  • Government Engineering College
  • Indian Institute of Planning and Management (IIPM)
  • Kirori Mal College
  • Maulana Azad Medical College
  • Miranda House
  • Mount Carmel Business School
  • Shaheed Sukhdev College of Business Studies
  • Sri Venkateswara College
  • Ram Lal Anand College
  • PGDAV College