India Map :: States in India :: Uttarakhand State Map

About Uttarakhand

Uttarakhand State Map

Uttarakhand is popularly called as the land of gods as it has the mighty Himalayas in it and attracts a lot of travelers from across the world. This paradise on Earth is rich in abundance of fresh air, milky white snow, beautiful mountains, scenic beauty and quaint little villages and hospitable people. This is the perfect
spot for the nature lovers and adventure sport lovers who love water rafting, skiing, paragliding, jeep safari in the wild, angling, boating and trekking. The famous tourist attraction places such as the Mussorie and Nainital, almira, ranikhet, pitoragarh, pauri and Munyasari are loaded with natural beauty and scenic locations.

The Uttarakhand Maps shows that this state is located in the northern parts of the country and it forms a part of the Himalayas. It shares border with Tibet, Himachal Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh. Cities in Uttarakhand are unique in every way and have a well planned rail route, road way, air way and water ways to make it accessible to international and national travelers. The interesting feature about Uttarakhand is that its name is derived from Sanskrit meaning northern part of a country. It was traditionally used to describe the north stretch of Himalayas.

History of Uttarakhand would tell one that there are archeological proofs to support the statements that human life existed in this region during the prehistoric times. Also Buddhism was followed in the earlier period of Asoka rule. Facts about Uttarakhand states that Dehradun, the capital of this state is the largest city in the whole region and is also a rail head. Also the population is high in this state that makes it the 19th most populated state in India. The rivers Ganga and Yamuna make the soil extremely fertile and helps in the growth of various crops cultivated here. The UNESCO heritage site present here called the Valley of Flowers is a popular location as it houses some the best varieties of exotic flowering and non flowering plants.

The tourists who visit the site every year help generate fair share of revenue. The districts in Uttarakhand are 13 in number and the entire state is divided into two major sub divisions such as the Garhwal and Kumaon. This makes the people of the region to be called as either Garhwali or Kumaoni to identify their origin. Each of the districts is under the governance of District Commissioner who has a team of sub divisional magistrates and panchayats to work effectively.

Uttarakhand Map

Uttarakhand Map
Click To View Larger Map
Facts About Uttarakhand
Area 53,566 km2
Capital Dehradun
Languages Garhwali, Kumaoni, Hindi, Urdu, Sanskrit
Literacy 79.63%
Population 10,116,752
Largest City Dehradun

List of all Districts in Uttarakhand

CodeDistrictHeadquartersPopulation (2001)Area (km2)
PGPauri GarhwalPauri696,8515,438
TGTehri GarhwalNew Tehri604,6084,085
USUdham Singh NagarRudrapur1,234,5482,912

Subscribe with us