Universities in Uttarakhand

In Gujarat, there are 1 central university, 11 state universities, 3 deemed universities and 13 private universities.

Institutes of National Importance


Location Institute name Established Specialization
Roorkee Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee 1847  Technology and management
Srinagar National Institute of Technology Uttarakhand 2010 Technology
Kashipur Indian Institute of Management Kashipur 2011 Management
Rishikesh All India Institute of Medical Sciences Rishikesh 2012 Medical research and technology
Dehradun Forest Research Institute 1906 Forestry Research
Dehradun Indira Gandhi National Forest Academy 1987 Training of IFS
Dehradun Indian Military Academy 1932

Training of Armed Forces Officers



Central universities

Location University name Established Specialization
Srinagar, Uttarakhand H.N.B. Garhwal University 1973 General

State universities

Location University name Established Specialization
Pantnagar G.B. Pant University of Agriculture and Technology 1960 Agriculture and technology
Nainital, Almora & Bhimtal Kumaun University (three campuses) 1973 General
Haridwar Uttarakhand Sanskrit University 2005 Sanskrit
Dehradun Doon University 2005 General
Haldwani Uttarakhand Open University 2005 Distance learning
Dehradun Uttarakhand Technical University 2008 Technology
Dehradun Uttarakhand Ayurveda University 2009 Ayurveda
Bharsar (Pauri) and Ranichauri (Tehri) Uttarakhand University of Horticulture and Forestry (two campuses) 2011 Horticulture and forestry
Badhshahithaul (Tehri) Sri Dev Suman Uttarakhand University 2012 General
Dehradun H.N.B. Uttarakhand Medical Education University 2014 Medicine
Almora Uttarakhand Aawasiya Vishwavidyalaya 2016 General


Deemed universities

Location University name Established Specialization
Dehradun Forest Research Institute 1906  Forestry research
Haridwar Gurukula Kangri Vishwavidyalaya^ 1902  Ancient Vedic, technology and management
Dehradun Graphic Era University 1993  Engineering, Management, Humanities & Social Sciences, Commerce and Computer Applications

Private universities

Location University name Established Specialization
Haridwar Dev Sanskriti Vishwavidyalaya 2002 Yoga, psychology, animation, and computer science
Dehradun DIT University 2013 Technology and management
Bhimtal & Dehradun Graphic Era Hill University (three campuses) 2011 Technology and management
Dehradun Himgiri Zee University 2003 Communication, technology and management
Dehradun ICFAI University, Dehradun 2003 Law, Technology, Management, Education
Dehradun IMS Unison University 2013 Law, technology and management
Roorkee Motherhood University (2 Campuses) 2015 Law, Pharmacy, Paramedical and Management
Dehradun Swami Rama Himalayan University 1989 Medicine and technology
Kotdwar Bhagwant Global University 2016 Technology and Management
Dehradun University of Petroleum and Energy Studies 2003 Computer Science, Petroleum and energy
Haridwar University of Patanjali 2006 Yoga
Dehradun Uttaranchal University 2013 Law, technology and management
Pokhara Himalayan Garhwal University 2016 Science, Technology and Management
Dehradun Shri Guru Ram Rai University 2017 Technology, Management and others
Roorkee Quantum University 2017

Technology, Management and others


Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *