Universities in Bihar

In Bihar, there are 17 state universities, 1 IIT and other 4 central universities operating in Bihar while Vikramshila Central University and National Skill Central University are proposed, 2 deemed universities, and 5 private universities are currently functional with 1 more proposed.


University Location Type Established Specialization Permanent campus
Aligarh Muslim University Kishanganj Central 2013 General Under Construction
Aryabhatta Knowledge University Patna State 2008 Technology Available
Bhupendra Narayan Mandal University Madhepura State 1992 General Available
Bihar Agricultural University Bhagalpur State 2009 Agriculture Available
Bihar Animal Sciences University Patna State 2016  Vet Available
Bihar Yoga Bharati Munger Deemed 1994  Yoga Available
B. R. Ambedkar Bihar University Muzaffarpur State 1952 General Available
Central University of South Bihar Gaya Central 2009 General Available
Chanakya National Law University Patna State 2006 Legal Available
Indian Institute of Technology, Patna Patna Central 2008 Technology Available
Jai Prakash University Chhapra State 1990 General Available
Kameshwar Singh Darbhanga Sanskrit University Darbhanga State 1961 Sanskrit Available
K. K. University Nalanda Private 2017


General Temp
Lalit Narayan Mithila University Darbhanga State 1972 General Available
Magadh University Bodhgaya State 1962 General Available
Mahatma Gandhi Central University Motihari Central 2015 General Temp
Maulana Mazharul Haque Arabic and Persian University Patna State 2004 Arabic ,Persian Available
Nalanda Open University Patna State 1987 Distance education Available
Nalanda University Rajgir Central 2014 Postgraduate Under Construction
Nava Nalanda Mahavihara Nalanda Deemed 1951 Buddhism, Pali Available
Patna University Patna State 1917 General Available
Dr. Rajendra Prasad Central Agriculture University Samastipur Central 1970 Agriculture Available
Sandip University, Sijoul Madhubani Private 2017 General Temp
Tilka Manjhi Bhagalpur University Bhagalpur State 1960 General Available
Veer Kunwar Singh University Arrah State 1994 General Available
Amity University, Patna Patna Private 2017 General Temp
Dr C V Raman University Vaishali Private 2018 General Temp
Patliputra University Patna State 2018 General Temp
Purnea University Purnea State 2018 General Temp
Munger University Munger State 2018 General Temp
Gopal Narayan Singh University Rohtas Private 2018 General Temp


Institutes of national

Engineering colleges

Central government

State government

State Govt.-Aided


Government Polytechnic

  • Government Polytechnic Patna
  • New Government Polytechnic Patna
  • Government Polytechnic Darbhanga, Darbhanga
  • Kameshwar Narayan Singh Govt. Polytechnic Samastipur, Samastipur
  • Government Polytechnic BARUNI, Begusarai
  • Government Polytechnic Bhagalpur, Bhagalpur
  • Government Polytechnic Chapra, Chapra
  • Government Polytechnic Muzzafarpur, Muzzafarpur
  • Government Polytechnic Purnea, Purnea
  • Government Polytechnic Katihar, Katihar
  • Government Polytechnic Lakhisarai, Lakhisarai
  • Government Polytechnic Dheri-on-sone, Rohtas
  • Government Polytechnic Saharsha, Saharsa
  • Government Polytechnic Gopalgang, Gopalganj
  • Government Polytechnic Vaishali, Vaishali
  • Government Polytechnic Asthawan, Nalanda
  • Government Polytechnic West Champaran, West Champaran
  • Government Polytechnic Sheohar, Sheohar
  • Government Polytechnic Arwal, Arwal
  • Government Polytechnic Buxar, Buxar
  • Government Polytechnic Jehanabad, Jehanabad
  • Government Polytechnic Bhojpur, Bhojpur
  • BKNS Government Polytechnic, Gopalganj, Gopalganj
  • Government Polytechnic Motihari, Motihari
  • Government Polytechnic Araria, Araria
  • Baddiuzama Khan Polytechnic Institute Sitamarhi, Sitamarhi
  • Government Polytechnic Aurangabad, Aurangabad
  • Government Polytechnic Madhepura, Madhepura
  • Government Polytechnic Raghopur, Supaul
  • Government Polytechnic Gaya
  • Government Polytechnic Madhubani, Madhubani
  • Government Polytechnic Munger, Munger
  • Government Polytechnic Seikhpura, Seikhpura
  • Government Polytechnic Jamui, Jamui
  • Government Polytechnic Banka, Banka
  • Government Polytechnic Tekari, Gaya
  • Government Polytechnic Kaimur, Kaimur
  • Government Polytechnic Sitamarhi, Sitamarhi
  • Government Polytechnic Kishanganj, Kisanganj
  • Government Polytechnic Nawada, Nawada
  • Government Polytechnic Siwan, Siwan
  • Government Polytechnic Khagaria, Khagaria
  • Government Women’s Polytechnic Muzzafarpur, Muzzafarpur
  • Government Women’s Polytechnic Patna

Medical Colleges


Name Established City University Type
Anugrah Narayan Magadh Medical College and Hospital 1969 Gaya Aryabhatta Knowledge University Government
All India Institute of Medical Sciences, Patna 2012 Patna Autonomous Public
Darbhanga Medical College and Hospital 1946 Darbhanga Lalit Narayan Mithila University Government
Government Medical College, Bettiah 2008 Bettiah Aryabhatta Knowledge University Government
Indira Gandhi Institute of Medical Sciences 1983 Patna Autonomous Public
Jawaharlal Nehru Medical College and Hospital 1970 Bhagalpur Aryabhatta Knowledge University Government
Katihar Medical College and Hospital 1987 Katihar Purnea University Private
Purnea Medical College and Hospital Under Construction Purnea Purnea University Government
Lord Buddha Koshi Medical College and Hospital 2012 ‘Affiliation cancelled from 2015’ Saharsa Bhupendra Narayan Mandal University Private
Patna Medical College and Hospital 1925 Patna Aryabhatta Knowledge University Government
Nalanda Medical College Hospital 1970 Patna Magadh University Government
Narayan Medical College and Hospital 2008 Sasaram Veer Kunwar Singh University Private
Rajendra Memorial Research Institute of Medical Sciences 1963 Patna Calcutta University Government
Sri Krishna Medical College and Hospital 1970 Muzaffarpur Aryabhatta Knowledge University Government
Vardhman Institute of Medical Sciences 2013 Pawapuri Aryabhatta Knowledge University Government
Mata Gujri Memorial Medical College 1990 Kishanganj Aryabhatta Knowledge University Private

Dental colleges



  • Buddha Institute of Dental Sciences & Hospital, Kankarbagh, Patna
  • Dr. B.R. Ambedkar Institute of Dental Sciences & Hospital, Patna
  • Mithila Minority Dental College and Hospital, Laheriasarai, Darbhanga
  • Sarjug Dental College, Darbhanga
  • Dr. B.R Ambedkar Institute of Dental Sciences & Hospital, Patna
  • Dr. S.M. Naqui Imam Dental College & Hospital, Darbhanga

MCA colleges

MBA colleges

Agricultural institute

Fashion, art and design

Hotel management

Law institutes


Veterinary Colleges

Have any Question or Comment?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *