India Map :: States in India :: Andhra Pradesh State Map

About Andhra Pradesh

Andhra Pradesh State Map

Andhra Pradesh is interlinked by various Indian states such as Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Maharashtra, Orissa and Chhattisgarh in various directions. The capital of this state is Hyderabad. There are a number of Andhra Pradesh Maps available with regards to the population, rivers and cities which would give one a clear idea about the various features of this state.
Also the maps would tell you that the entire area of Andhra is 106,204 square miles. The interesting feature about Andhra Pradesh is that the state is divided into three physiographic regions such as mountain ranges, coastal plains and plateau regions.

The coastal region ensures that the water supply is offered to the entire region as there are a number of rivers and river valleys. The plateau region is fertile with alluvial soil and comprises of genesis rock. The mountain ranges of Andhra comprises of a combination of isolated hills with red soil, sandy soil and black soil. When reading about the history of Andhra Pradesh, one can know that the region has acquired its name through its ancient inhabitants who also developed the Telugu language. It became a separate state in the year 1956.

The state of Andhra Pradesh experiences severe summer season from March till June and has rainfall from July till September and winter season lasts from October till February. Some interesting facts about Andhra Pradesh would tell one that Golconda in Hyderabad was considered as the richest diamond mine with amazing diamond collections such as Kohinoor, darya-e-nur, regent diamond and hope diamond. Also the APSRTC has found a place in Guinness book of records for having the biggest fleet of buses. The cities in Andhra Pradesh are highly popular for its tourist importance. The cities are filled with pilgrim centers and architectural centers of historical importance. Some of the popular cities of Andhra are Hyderabad, Vishakhapatnam, Vijayawada, Warangal, Tirupati, Nellore, Adilabad, Guntur, Nizambad and Chitoor.

When speaking about districts in Andhra Pradesh there are 10 northern districts such as Nizamabad, Warangal, Hyderabad, Nalgonda, Rangareddy, Medak, Mahbubnagar, Karimnagar and Kammam. There are four districts in the south such as Kurnool, Chittoor, YSR and Anantpur. The nine coastal districts comprise some popular regions such as Vishakhapatnam, Nellore, Vijayanagaram etc. Some of these districts are port cities which have busy rail junctions and are highly populated. All these districts remain well connected with railways and roadways to travel across any region with much ease.

Andhra Pradesh Map

Andhra Pradesh map
Click To View Larger Map
Facts About Andhra Pradesh
Area 275,045 km2
Capital Hyderabad
Languages Telugu (official), Hindi, English, and Urdu
Literacy 67.77%
Population 84,655,533
Largest City Hyderabad

List of all Districts in Andhra Pradesh

CodeDistrictHeadquartersPopulation (2001)Area (km2)
EGEast GodavariKakinada4,872,62210,807
RARanga ReddyHyderabad3,506,6707,493
WGWest GodavariEluru3,796,1447,742

Subscribe with us

IPL 2013